The Ocean
Style: "Ocean Metal"
Release date: May 12th 2009

The German band THE OCEAN released ’Fluxion’ in 2004 but was never happy with the initial release so this why they are re-releasing it on Pelagic Records.


It’s kinda hard to describe the sound and style of this band. They are everything; progressive, ambient, atmospheric, metal-core, thrash-core, melodic death metal, doom and futuristic hybrid metal peppered with orchestral passages. Just think of a mix between ISIS, NEUROSIS, MASTODON and a few others and you have a pretty good idea of what to expect.


Music like this really need some time to sink in... and it’s certainly not for everyone, that’s for sure. I’m not sure that ‘Fluxion’ is something for the average traditionally heavy metal fan. No, you have to be pretty open minded and I must admit that the very first time I threw this disc in my hard-tried CD-player I felt pretty bored with the music. I wasn’t in the right mood to put it simple. But I gave it listen now and then when the mood was right, and now numerous spins later I actually like what they have to offer.


Well... as written above; ‘Fluxion’ is not for everyone. It’s music for a certain mood and if you’re ready to challenge your brain cells with lots of details, then try this one out.

01. Nazca
02. The Human Stain
03. Comfort Zones
04. Fluxion
05. Equinox
06. Loopholes
07. Dead on the Whole
08. Isla Del Sol
09. The Greatest Bane
Label: Pelagic Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 40/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: May 15th 2008
Website: Ocean