The Black Dahlia Murder
Style: Black/Death Metal
Release date: September 11th 2009

’Deflorate’ by THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER is yet another album that have caught me somewhere between heaven and hell.


The band provide us with all the right trademarks there should be so ever presents in modern black/death metal, namely; Fast drumming, aggressive vocals, growls, and very speedy riffs, but I still miss something when ‘Deflorate’ rotates in my player. It's not a bad album but I miss something.


Most of the songs are very similar to each other at first listens and ‘Deflorate’ unfortunately needs maybe 6-7 spins before it starts to grow. At least that’s how I feel about it.


Don’t worry... the music is faster than the speed of light as written above, and the production is great, but nothing, except for a few riffs really sticks. Every single track is on the exact same level and I need a bit more in this cocktail of black and death metal.


There will undoubtedly be takers out there for this CD I’m sure, but far as I’m concerned, ‘Deflorate’ left me neither shaken nor stirred.

01. Black Valor
02. Necropolis
03. A Selction Unnatural
04. Denounced, Disgraced
05. Christ Deformed
06. Death Panorama
07. Throne Of Lunacy
08. Eyes Of Thousand
09. That Which Erodes The Most Tender
10. I Will Return
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 20/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: September 27th 2009