Murder by Pride
Style: Melodic Rock
Release date: August 28th 2009

"Michael Sweet has commented that "after years of speaking to fans and hearing comments like 'more guitars,' 'more solos' and 'more screams,' I decided to keep those suggestions in mind as I wrote each song. It was important to me to try to get back to that early sound of STRYPER yet at the same time, to remain relevant today."

Michael Sweet hits the nail right on the head with that quote. There are heaps of solos, heavier guitars and ear piercing screams that only Michael can perform & the vocal harmonies are back as well which makes for a nice touch. After all Stryper perfected the vocal harmonies. Musically I heard everything on "Murder by Pride" from The Yellow & Black Attack (Especially the guitar sound) to In God We Trust. "Murder by Pride" is the Stryper album the fans wanted and Stryper has delivered the goods. The opening 3 tracks are solid rockers the opening guitar riff on "Four Leaf Clover" is straight off "Soldiers Under Command" awesome song, before Stryper break into their famous power ballads "Alive" could have easily been included on "To Hell With The Devil" & "I Believe". The heaviest song on the album is "My Love I'll Always Show" which is the last song on "Murder By Pride" and this ends the album with the listener wanting to push play again.

 I must admit here that "Murder by Pride" didnít grab me on the first listen, but give it time to open up and you will be very pleasantly entertained. This is a very mature Stryper, but one I hope stays around for a long period of time.

 I must take my hat off to Michael Sweet here and applauded him for what must have been a very very tough album to get through. As most of you know or might not know; Michael lost his wife recently to ovarian cancer leaving behind a wonderful family much too early. "My Love My Life My Flame" is a tribute to Kyle Rae Sweet.... RIP. 

Bottom Line: Hooks, hooks & more hooks every Stryper fan should own a copy of "Murder by Pride". And even if youíre not a Stryper fan go and buy it anyway.

Highly Recommended

01. Eclipse For The Son
02. 4 Leaf Clover
03. Peace Of Mind
04. Alive
05. The Plan
06. Murder By Pride
07. Mercy Over Blame
08. I Believe
09. Run In You
10. Love Is Why
11. Everything
12. My Love (I'll Always Show)
13. My Love My Life My Flame
Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Tye Brown
Date: July 14th 2009