Signs of Revolution
Style: Trad.Power Metal
Release date: May 22nd 2009

With the original name Stormhammer it will not be a surprise that we have to do with a power metal band. They hail from Germany and they bring us very predictable music. It is a mix of NWOBHM, US-metal and Euro style (or should I say German) power metal in a 80's sauce. 'Sign of Revolution' is their fourth album and new singer Mike Zotter (ex-Dreamscape) is already the third one.

Average is the key-word for this album. Average singer, average songs, average power metal, average ballad ("Bridges to Eternity"). Mike can't impress me with his vocal performance and the songs are too predictable. We have heard it all before and I have heard it often better and Chris Morgan who takes care of the keyboards can't impress me either. The rather simple keyboard parts are not adventurous enough, yes indeed, too average. There are so many (German) bands that (have) play(ed) this kind of metal and Stormhammer is just one of them.

If you are a sucker for everything that smells like power metal, you can take a shot at this one. Personally it didn't impress me. I compare it with the national Swiss soccer team; they can play soccer, they are not easy to beat, they are not feared by their components, they never surprise and they will never be in the quarter final! Indeed, average!

01. The Other Side (Intro)
02. Omens of Agony
03. Kiss At the Abyss
04. Signs of Revolution
05. Permanent Menace
06. Well Of Wisdom
07. Bridges To Eternity
08. Pied Piper
09. From Dusk To Dawn
10. Sham World
11. Ride on a Razorblade
12. Challenge of Life
13. Calls From the Otherside
Label: Silverwolf Production
Promotion:      Germusica Promotion
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: April 30th 2009