Picture Perfect
Style: Alternative Modern Metal
Release date: October 23rd 2009

This is Soil's second album with AJ Cavalier on vocals. The latest album 'True Self' was a decent album and the new one 'Picture Perfect' continues with the same kind of style. AJ uses again his harsh melodic vocals and every now and then he uses aggressive ones.


The songs can be divided in two parts; the catchy and radio friendly ones and the more angry and heavier ones. "Surrounded" is the perfect example of the radio friendly section, it has a very catchy chorus and with a nice video clip this could be the perfect hit. An example of a more angry and groovy song is "Temptation", but even then they sound very catchy. The band has succeeded in writing very contagious songs, which should easily be picked up by a big audience. Their NU-metal based songs can compete with every other band in the genre.


Fans of Drowning Pool, Staind, Creed, Alice in Chains and good rock songs in general will be happy with this album. Soil sounds sometimes like a kind of lesser heavy Disturbed. Their last album 'True Self' leaked on the internet 2 month before release date. I hope this will not be the case with this new one. So buy it!!, don't steal it!


01. Tear (3:13)

02. Lesser Man (3:39)

03. Like It Is (3:29)

04. Picture Perfect (4:04)

05. Surrounded (3:37) 

06. Wasted (3:27)

07. Every Moment (3:13)

08. Anymore (4:14)

09. Falter (3:38)

10. Too Far Away (4:29)

11. Calling Out (3:39)

12. Temptation (3:50)

13. Last Wish (3:45)

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: October 19th 2009