Savage Blade
We are the Hammer
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: October 3rd 2009

Savage Blade from British Columbia / Canada was formed last year ago by Nikko Forsberg ( lead vocals ), Eric Hoodicoff ( guitar and drums ) and Christopher Rand (bass, guitar and keyboards).


"We are the Hammer" was released by Savage Blade in February but only as vinyl and download, the vinyl edition was limited to 300 pieces. Fortunately Pure Steel Records picked up this great album and has now released it on CD.


Savage Blade finds their influences in the eighties, yes "We are the Hammer" sounds like a long forgotten masterpiece from that era with bits and pieces from US Metal, NWOBHM and Melodic Heavy Metal ( Yeah old school ).


"We are the Hammer" sounds incredible tight despite the fact that the band was only formed last year.

Some of the best tracks are "(In) The Eye of the Storm" which makes me think of the first Warrior album, the NWOBHM styled "Merlin", the Q5 / Heir Apparent inspired semi-ballad "Willow Run" or the slow and heavy "Crowfoot".


I can only say that "We are the Hammer" are one of the best debuts this year (maybe the best ).




01. We are the Hammer

02. Night of the Blade

03. Merlin

04. Willow Run

05. (In) The Eye of the Storm

06. Stallions of the Highway

07. Silver Ghost

08. Crowfoot

09. Magic of the Night

10. The Eagle is Stranded

11. Opus of Fire

Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Twilight
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Jørgen Ditlev
Date: December 2nd 2009