The Human Condition
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: April 27th 2009

As a lifelong fan of Saga I do feel let down, not so much because of the new guy handling the vocals, because replacing Michael Sandler, a guy, who has been the centre of attention for more than 30 years, is extremely hard. Rob Moratti is a good choice for the position and he does a sufficient job to warrant consideration - even for the hardest die-hard fans - for him as the new captain of the ship on stage.

No doubt this still sounds and feels like Saga with a twist. The unmistakably sound they have developed over decades is ever-present; the haunting melodies, the solo passages and the duels of Ian Crichton and Jim Gilmour as well as the well crafted arrangements.

But at the end of the day, this does not make me jump for joy. It does enough to entertain but not enough to excite me. The album ends up being rather pale and faceless, sadly a little like most the albums they made in the early 90's; good, borderline mediocrity with a few highlights far between.

The next chapter of Saga begins a little bumpy and they need to write more convincing material to move forward with Rob Moratti.
01. The Human Condition
02. Step Inside
03. Hands of Time
04. Avalon
05. A Number with a Name
06. Now is Gone
07. Let It Go
08. Crown of Thorns
09. You Look Good to me
Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: April 17th 2009