Tim Ripper Owens
Play My Game
Style: Modern US Metal
Release date: May 18th 2009

With a very heavy heart I write this review. “Play My Game” was one of the albums I was anticipating to be great this year. Well sadly & I mean very sadly I was wrong. With such an array of guests on “Play My Game” including:

Guitar - Bruce Kulick (GRAND FUNK RAILROAD, ex-KISS), Carlos Cavazo (RATT, ex-QUIET RIOT), Craig Goldy (DIO), Chris Caffery (SAVATAGE, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA), Mike Callahan (ex-EARSHOT), John Comprix (BEYOND FEAR, RINGWORM), Doug Aldrich (WHITESNAKE), Michael Wilton (QUEENSRŸCHE), Jeff Loomis (NEVERMORE) and Steve Stevens (BILLY IDOL).

Bass - Marco Mendoza (ex-WHITESNAKE), Billy Sheehan (MR BIG, ex-DAVID LEE ROTH), Dave Ellefson (ex-MEGADETH), Rudy Sarzo (DIO, ex-OZZY OSBOURNE, QUIET RIOT), James Lomenzo (MEGADETH), Tony Franklin (ex-BLUE MURDER) and Dennis Hayes (BEYOND FEAR).

Drums - Simon Wright (DIO, ex-AC/DC), Vinny Appice (HEAVEN AND HELL, BLACK SABBATH, DIO), Ray Luzier (KORN, DAVID LEE ROTH) and Bobby Jarzombek (SEBASTIAN BACH, RIOT, HALFORD).

Now you would think this would be a super project from hell. But that is where the problem lies. The music on “Play My Game” is very boring and played with no passion. To my ears, it sounds like all the guests, especially the guitarists, are just there as hired guns. Nothing jumps out at me and say’s listen to me; “I’m the best fucking song you have heard”. Basically the music sucks big time and has a very modern day US metal sound (Disturbed, Bullet for my Valentine) and never gets out of second gear. There are a few killer solos but nothing that will save “Play My Game”.

Ripper puts in a stellar vocal performance on “Play My Game” very nice and clean vocals with a little bit of use with filters and stuff. “The Cover Up" & “It Is Me” is the best I have heard Tim sing & scream. I really did want to like “Play My Game” and have listened to it for the last week non stop, waiting for the sucker punch to hit me. But it never did!!! I just wish Ripper would do another Beyond Fear album. Now that thing shits all over “Play My Game”.

Very very disappointing!

01. Staring Over
02. Believe
03. The Cover Up
04. Pick Yourself Up
05. It Is Me
06. No Good Goodbyes
07. The World is Blind
08. To Live Again
09. The Light
10. Play Me Game
11. Death Race
12. The Shadows are Alive
Label: Steamhammer/SPV
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Tye Brown
Date: May 10th 2009
Website: www.timripperowens.com