Opus Ribcage
Style: Death Metal
Release date: March 2nd 2009

The bands Ribspreader and Paganizer are 2 bands that play in the same kind of genre and have many similarities. Ribspreader has in Roger 'Rogga' Johansson (vocals, guitar) the same frontman as Paganizer and lead guitarist Andreas 'Dea' Karlsson is an ex-Paganizer member. Musically the bands don't differ that much either, but I will do no further statements about that and concentrate on Ribspreader.

The new album 'Opus Ribcage' is a very predictable successor of their second release 'Congregating the Sick'. They keep on playing Swedish old school death metal Göthenborg-style. One after the other early Entombed, Dismember, Grave and Unleashed riff passes by. Every song is a déjŕ-vu, although they don't reach the same songwriting level as the big four. They have even the same kind of groove in the songs. The music is so not original that it becomes a feast to listen to and makes you want to bang and run around immediately. The one thing they should have done is to skip the Ramones cover "Blitzkrieg Pop". They should have kept that song for fun in the rehearsal room.

Nice grooving Swedish Göthenborg death-metal, not original, but still tasting good.

01. Opus Ribcage (intro)
02. Dying Dead Decomposed
03. Corpse Dumpster
04. Septic Severance
05. None has Survived
06. Death and Beyond
07. Torn Flesh Satisfaction
08. River of Rot
09. The Skeletal Empire
10. Fermenting Fields
11. Blitzkrieg Pop (Ramones cover) 
Label: Vic Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: May 16th 2009
Website: www.myspace.com/ribspreader