Odd Senses
Style: Jacuzzi-core
Release date: February 16th 2009

In my nightmare of nightmares, I’m attending a festival where the billing only includes Cynic, Akercocke. Mr. Bungle and A Kid Hereafter In The Grinding Light.


Psyopus have just earned themselves a spot on the bill, too.


Look, there should be room for everyone, but in my world, the human mind can only take in so much, and those who think this is fantastic only do so because they think they bloody well have to in order to stand out. I believe the word is contrived.


If you’re looking for a guitar sound that sounds like the coupling between a Commodore 64 and a runaway Phillips shaver, this is where you want to look.


And if you fast forward as I did, you’ll also find that there is a 9 minute piece of neo-classical music. And 20+ minute slab of going-nowhere ‘fun’ jacuzzi-metal.


Already at this point in time, I can firmly state that ‘Odd Senses’ is most likely to be one of the most annoying releases of the year.


01. .44

02. Medusa

03. The Burning Halo

04. Duct Tape Smile

05. X and Y

06. Boogeyman

07. Imogen’s Puzzle Pt 3

08. Choker Chain

09. Ms Shyflower
10. A Murder to Child

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 79/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: February 11th 2009