Primal Fear
16.6 (Before the Devil Knows You're Dead)
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: May 22nd 2008

Germany’s very own PRIMAL FEAR is back with another fine release, entitled '16.6 (Before the Devil Knows You’re Dead)’ and they almost continues were they left us with ‘New Religion’ (2007). They are bit rougher this time. But you better beware, ‘cause we get both up-tempo heavy metal and melodic mid-tempo metal with catchy choruses in their famous PRIMAL FEAR/JUDAS PRIEST style. At times they are even more Priest than Priest themselves.


PRIMAL FEAR really succeeds in balancing the two sides of PRIMAL FEAR and they just seems to get better at it as time passes by. Some die-hard fans might find one or two of the songs too melodic but come on... a band can’t release the album year after year! And they haven’t turned into another Bon Jovi clone, for crying out loud!


Well... the die-hard fans will find themselves banging their heads and singing along to straightforward songs such as; “Riding The Eagle”, “Under The Rader”, “The Exorcist” and the stomping; “Six Times Dead (16.6)” and “Killbound” in no time. Yes... there is something for everyone here. Melody, stomping songs, and faster ones with guitar runs that sound like a dentists drill, so what more do you need?


I have no complaints of the production either, so go and get this album in May and sit back and enjoy the ride.


01. Before The Devil Knows You're Dead

02. Riding The Eagle

03. Six Times Dead (16.6)

04. Black Rain

05. Under The Rader

06. 5.0 Torn

07. Soar

08. Killbound

09. No Smoke Without Fire

10. Night After Night

11. Smith & Wesson

12. The Exorcist

13. Hands Of Time 

14. Cry Havoc

15. Scream

Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion:   Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 67/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: April 19th 2009