Praying Mantis
Style: Melodic Rock / AOR
Release date: June 5th 2009

As I sit here for what seems like hours looking at a blank screen and listening to the brand new album by Praying Mantis “Sanctuary” it occurs to me that this brilliant album is going to be damn hard to try and put into words. The feelings and emotions I feel when I listen to “Sanctuary” are indescribable; it puts me in my happy place!!! The resurrection of Praying Mantis began in the summer 2007 when they played at the Bang Your Head Festival. Consisting of original members the Troy brothers on guitar & bass Benjy Reid on drums, Andy Burgess on guitar and Mike Freeland on vocals.

“Sanctuary” is filled with plenty of great melodies that will stay in your head for days. The lead and harmony guitar work is sensational with great solos, all filled with just enough keyboards. I must say, the most impressive thing on “Sanctuary” is the singer Mike Freeland, sensational. At times he reminds me Terry Ilous from XYZ in parts and I can even hear some Michael Kiske. Were ever they found Mike they need to keep a tight hold on him. I personally think he makes this album.

This is classic English melodic rock/AOR. Think bands like TEN, Bob Catley (Magnum) and Whitesnake. I really can’t pick any one good song, because there is no filler on “Sanctuary” just 10 cracking rock anthems. But in saying that, “Sanctuary” won’t knock you off your feet the first listen. You need to take the time to let the songs unravel and discover their beauty. This is a well put together album by some real professional musicians and it tells. If you get the chance to see Praying Mantis over the summer you should not hesitate to go & make sure you buy a copy of “Sanctuary” a must have album for any rock fan.

01. In Time
02. Restless Heart
03. Tears in the Rain
04. So High
05. Lonely Way Home
06. Touch the Rainbow
07. Threshold of a Dream
08. Playing God
09. Highway
10. Sanctuary
Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Tye Brown
Date: May 14th 2009