Porcupine Tree
The Incident
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: September 11th 2009

Steven Wilson is one of most innovative and visionary men in rock music today, and when ever he blesses us with new material whether it's one of his many projects or his main band Porcupine Tree you never know what to expect, so always expect the unexpected. And why not surprise us with a 55 minutes long track, which is divided into fourteen parts, a song that covers all aspects of Porcupine Tree from the simple phase that gave us albums like "Stupid Dream" and "Lightbulb Sun" through the harder and darker periods that gave us "In Absentia", "Deadwing" and "Fear of a Blank Planet", and all the way back to their earlier and more psychedelic phase with their first four albums "Signify", "The Sky Moves Sideway", "Up the Downstair" and "On the Sunday of Life".

"The Incident" captures the core of Porcupine Tree, and the vibe has more in common with "Signify" than anything else. But that doesn't mean that they've taken a trip back in time, not at all! This is big step forward and just a new chapter in the musical universe called Porcupine Tree. The sounds collages and universe have grown, the songs are profound and when the album finally opens up you will discover all the finer pieces and all the finesse this album possesses.

Masterpiece on the album is the brilliant 'Time Flies' - the most complete song ever from Steven Wilson & co., simply magnificent and "The Incident" is yet another monumental milestone from one of the most influential bands in progressive rock today, and a very strong contender for Album of the year in my small world.


CD 1


The Incident
  I. Occam's Razor (1:55)
  II. The Blind House (5:47)
  III. Great Expectations (1:26)
  IV. Kneel and Disconnect (2:03)
  V. Drawing the Line (4:43)
  VI. The Incident (5:20)
  VII. Your Unpleasant Family (1:48)
  VIII. The Yellow Windows of the Evening
Train (2:00)
  IX. Time Flies (11:40)
  X. Degree Zero of Liberty (1:45)
  XI. Octane Twisted (5:03)
  XII. The Seance (2:39)
  XIII. Circle of Maniacs (2:18)
  XIV. I Drive the Hearse (6:41)
CD 2
01. Flicker (3:42)
02. Bonnier the Cat (5:45)
03. Black Dahlia (3:40)
04. Remember Me Lover (7:28)
Label: Roadrunner Records
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: September 29th 2009
Website: www.porcupinetree.com