Sunless Skies
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: May 22nd 2009

Pathosray hit the progressive metal scene with a huge bang back in 2007 with their very impressive debut album. This time around they have taken a more controlled and laid back approach to things and the aggressiveness of the debut album has almost disappeared.

'Sunless Skies' picks up where they left us two years ago, and Pathosray has created another showcase of progressive metal. The technical level is very high, the deliverance is flawless, the production is well balanced and powerful and the songs are intense and innovative.

The new direction suits them very well, and 'Sunless Skies' is clearly a step up the latter for them. They are clearly influenced by bands like Fates Warning, Evergrey, Dream Theater and Symphony X, but they are more than capable of utilizing those influences to something of their own, something unique and special.

The album is demanding on the listener and might not stick as fast as expected, but give it time to grow and blossom and you will discover ten wonderful pieces to the puzzle that ends up being an outstanding piece of progressive metal.

01. Crown of Thorns
02. Behind the Shadow
03. Aurora
04. Quantic Enigma
05. In Your Arms
06. Son of the Sunless Sky
07. The Coldest Lullaby
08. Perpetual Eclipse
09. Poltergeist
10. For the Last Time
Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: April 24th 2009