New Device
Takin' Over
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: July 20th 2009

New Device debuts with a Blues-infused Hard Rock album that gives bands such as Guns N Roses or Aerosmith a run for their money. On vocals is Daniel Leigh, owner of a really great voice, perfect for this kind of music. He sounds a lot like Jean Beauvoir, of Crown Of Thorns fame. While I’m making an indirect reference to the line-up, Ryan Richards, of Funeral For A Friend, has lent his name and drumming skills to New Device for the recording of this album. Though don’t expect to hear the same stuff Mr Richards normally does with his main band.

These tracks are what may be termed radio-friendly but they’re clearly written by someone with a knack of writing good songs – songs that have both grit and melody. This gives the band a strong potential to grow further and wider. Upbeat songs such as ‘Never Say Never’ and ‘On Fire’ are great fun but ‘Moth To The Flame’ proves that the band can also do decent power ballads.

“Takin’ Over” can hardly be described as an innovative Metal release. It’s not innovative. And it’s definitely not Metal. It’s just a dozen tracks waiting to be enjoyed.

01. Make My Day
02. Never Say Never
03. You've Got It Comin'
04. In the Fading Light
05. On Fire
06. Pedal to the Metal
07. Until the End
08. Moth to the Flame
09. Seven Nights, Seven Bodies
10. Heaven Knows
11. Hope is Not Enough
12. Takin' Over

Label: Powerage Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: July 22nd 2009
Website: New Device @ MySpace