My Own Grave
Style: Death Metal
Release date: September 18th 2009

After 4 demos, a debut full-length and a mini-album MOG releases their second full-length. The first time I listened to the album I was behind the wheel of my car. After a short intro the brutal combination of Swedish death and US death pounds out of the speakers. The first song is rather fast and without realising it, my right foot pressed down the pedal and before I knew it I was speeding. Finding speeding-tickets a waste of money I slowed down a bit, but with the second song same thing happened again.

Fortunately the band also plays some more mid-tempo pieces, so I could keep within the speed limit. Some mid-tempo pieces even remind me of Hail of Bullets. The production duties were handled by Dan Swäno and for a death metal production you can hardly find a better person. Vocalist Mikael Aronsson sounds very much like Jorgen Sandström (Grave) and there are worse vocalists to be compared with. Musically you hear that they hail from Sweden, the at times grooving riffs are very particular for that genre, but they use more technical US death influences too, Suffocation is one of them. All in all a very good gory death album.

If you want to hear a combination of Vomitory, Suffocation, Hail of Bullets, Malevolent Creation, Unleashed, Entombed (old) and Grave then check out My Own Grave.

01. Awaiting Death
02. Necrology
03. Hail the Blind
04. None Shall See
05. Disciples of War
06. Cerecloth
07. Bloodline Broken
08. Exhumed to be Buried
09. Age of Torment
10. Carnal Revelations
11. Incineration 
Label: Pulverised Records
Promotion: Sure Shot-Worx
Artwork:  80/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: August 21st 2009