My Inner Burning
My Inner Burning
Style: Modern Metal
Release date: November 13th 2009

No idea what kind of music you can expect when a record company tells you that the band plays Modern Metal. What is modern? One thing is for sure, you don't need to expect only power, progressive, AOR, speed, thrash, black or death, because then they would have put that label on it.


From the start I disliked the vocal performance of front woman Rebekka Gaber a little, but after listening to it a few times it isn't that irritating anymore like it was in the beginning, it's quite all right. Musically the melodic songs with modern sounds differ a lot and vary from groovy, powerful, catchy, up-tempo to rather heavy or serene. Sometimes it's a bit like a heavy version of Evanescence but also Within Temptation passes by in "Solitude Within You".  In "What Has to be Done" aggressive shouts/grunts pass by. These grunts appear every now and then in other songs too. The song "Over and Over and Over Again" makes me want to throw up, much too sweet and commercial and the heavier parts can't rescue the song.


Together with "Guide To Fame and Wealth" they leave one of the other heavy songs for the end; "They know Better" combines aggressive grunting with female vocals and this is in my opinion the musical direction where they should be going. Recapitulating I think it is o.k. for a debut. Not as good as it should have been, not as bad as it could have been.


01. Head on a Plate

02. Guide To Fame and Wealth

03. Fly With Me

04. Judgement Day

05. Solitude Within You

06. What Has to be Done

07. Over and Over and Over Again

08. Into Chaos

09. Soul Inc.

10. The Great Decline

11. They Know Better

Label: SAOL / H'Art/Zebralution
Provided by: Cmm Gmbh
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: November 28th 2009