Moonstone Project
Rebel on the Run
Style: Classic Rock
Release date: June 2nd 2009

Moonstone Project is an ambitious musical creature of the Italian guitarist Matt Filippini and he/they have just released album number 2 called ‘Rebel on the Run’.


This CD features James Christian on all tracks except for one. Glenn Hughes sings the last one. Nik Mazzucconi (Bass), Francesco Jovino (Drums) completes the band.


The music is classic rock and nothing wrong with that, but this CD fails to impress me. Most of the songs are way too boring for my taste. Some songs are leaning towards funk-rock or blues rock and I can’t exactly say I’m a huge fan of either funk or blues.


I have 10 tracks in my possession and it’s only the Status Quo-like boogie/blues song “Hey Mama”  that I really dig. “Madman” isn’t bad either but the rest of the songs goes into one ear and out the other.


I will ask you politely to check this album out... because I’m sure that most of you out there will feel way different about this CD than I do.


Next please.

01. Sinner Sinner
02. Moonster Booster
03. Cosmic Blues
04. From Another Time
05. Rebel On The Run
06. Closer Than You Think
07. Hey Mama
08. Shooting Star
09. Madman
10. Halfway To Heaven
Label: Blistering Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: June 9th 2008