The Last Dubber
Style: Industrial Metal Remix
Release date: September 11th 2009

Uff, tough thing to rate remix albums.


From the outset, I’m not a big fan of the remix concept. We’ve seen a few (and I mean a few) successful examples in the past. Fear Factory did the ‘Remanufacture’ album back in the nineties, and that was kind of fun. Prong has recently done the fine ‘Power of the Damn Mixxxer’. Now I sort of run short of titles to mention.


The thing with this last (?) Ministry release is that there are cool tracks on there – when they stand alone. Let's Go (La Fin Du Monde Mix) and The Dick Song (Straight Outta Lincoln Mix) are both excellent tracks. End_Of_Days_Part_1_(One Less Sparrow Mix) has a very, very cool drive, too and End Of Days Part 2 (Extreme Mayan Makeover Mix) is actually more interesting than the original version.


The rest of the tracks are, in my ears, mere fillers, bordering on being boring. The Last Sucker (Icke Mix) and No Glory (Sandpaper Condom Mix) are going nowhere, Death and Destruction (A Vote of Non-Confidence Mix) more or less the same.


I can see some of the tracks off this album working as club hits, but when you sit down and listen to the full load (which is what I tend to do), it’s eventually tiring.


Perhaps it has also something to do with the fact that ‘The Last Sucker’ wasn’t the greatest Ministry album of all time. Even though tracks like The Dick Song and Watch Yourself hammered through, the entire album didn’t – nowhere near the way I thought ‘Rio Grande Blood’ did.


What I think could be a neat idea was an album consisting of remixes of one or two of the best songs from each of the Ministry albums – a kind of best-of, but with the Al Jourgenson twist. Now, that could be a potentially very cool treat to the Ministry fans.


01. Let's Go (La Fin Du Monde Mix)

02. Watch Yourself (The Clocks Strike Thirteen Mix)

03. Life is Good (Neuroplasticity Mix)

04. The Dick Song (Straight Outta Lincoln Mix)

05. The Last Sucker (Icke Mix)

06. No Glory (Sandpaper Condom Mix)

07. Death & Destruction (A Vote of Non-Confidence Mix)

08. Die In A Crash (Point of Impact Mix)

09. End Of Days Part 1 (One Less Sparrow Mix)

10. End Of Days Part 2 (Extreme Mayan Makeover Mix)

11. Let's Go (Dawn of Oblivion Mix)

12. The Last Sucker (Hardware Revamp Mix)

Label: 13th Planet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 30/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: September 11th 2009