Portrait of a Porcelain Doll
Style: Melancholic progressive metal
Release date: March 20th 2009

The name, derivated from "melancholy", has been the subject since Mely was formed in 1999, which doesn't mean that the band isn't interested in rocking around. They are said to be insatiable for feeling the energy between themselves and their audience and love to live music.

The titles on Portrait of a Porcelain Doll, Mely's fourth album, denote a will to shape something abstract and deep. A bit flat, too standard, I think though.
However, musically they manage to create a dreamy, floating mood, sometimes with relents of My Dying Bride at their best ("Sear me", in particular), through rather calm compositions that hide nice breaks and powerful, progressive, melodic riffing, driven by a modern voice of yearning.

My own limitations point towards the last track that flattens what they bring up on the previous tracks, and there especially "Bricks against Porcelain Dolls".

In 41 minutes, Mely still proves to pass the test; will be especially appreciated by fans of Ektomorf, Graveworm, My Dying Bride, even Anathema, and can be listed alongside them all.


01. Of Doubts and Fears
02. Grown for Doom
03. Bricks against Porcelain Dolls
04. Don't wake the sleeping Dog 
05. Hell low
06. It is cold without shoes
07. Maybe yesterday
08. Sweet six Feet
09. My Addiction

Label: Silverwolf Productions
Distribution: Gordeon Music
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: April 6th 2009