Style: Semi progressive Hard Rock/ A.O.R.
Release date: November 6th 2009

Well, well, well… What a nice surprise! MASTEDON back after a 15+ year hiatus. So, are we given the obligatory Christian A.O.R. treatment as on “It’s A Jungle Out There” and “Lofcaudio”?


This has more to do with KANSAS than with classic MASTEDON. Well, with an impressive CV like John Elefante’s, it doesn’t really matter if you derive your inspiration from one band or the other. I mean, this man has worked with the very premier league of AOR/Hard Rock and earned his stripes singing for KANSAS back in the early 80s. So, in a way it seems natural for John Elefante to move back in this direction, back to where he came from. He’s still acting as if we’re close to Judgment Day and he has to secure those V.I.P. tickets to the final show. In other words: This is still praise-the-lord-Rock. In my book that doesn’t necessarily mean the music’s bad. And same goes for this CD; although not quite what I expected, it’s still a nice album of semi progressive Hard Rock / A.O.R. – heavily inspired by KANSAS.

Fans of other Elefante releases will enjoy this on equal terms as with other quality albums by the master. New listeners will probably find it a bit hard to get into the music.

01. Revolution Of Mind (4:04)
02. Slay Your Demons (4:17)
03. Nowhere Without Your Love (6:17)
04. One Day Down By The Lake (See You Real Soon) (10:41)
05. Water Into Wine (Fassa Rokka) (4:42)
06. Questions (It's About Time) (5:15)
07. You Can't Take Anything (4:33)
08. Lying (5:32)
09. The Western World (5:09)
10. That's What You Do (4:54)
11. Dust In The Wind (4:09)
Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 78/100
Reviewed by: The Jack
Date: October 14th 2009
Website:  -