Babies of Revolution
Style: Grunge / Rock / Metal
Release date: November 24th 2008

Manzana are from Finland where, apparently, they made an immediate leap to stardom after releasing their debut album Nothing As Whole As A Broken Heart (2007). After listening to their sophomore effort I simply can’t imagine why.

First off, I’m not quite sure whether ’Piritta’ is the name of the female vocalist of the band or if it’s just Finnish for ‘skinning cats’ – whatever it is, the sound of it is simply horrendous (check out Near Death Experience and have one yourself!).

On their second album, Babies of Revolution, Manzana deliver nine tracks of perfectly unoriginal, punk inspired pop rock that’s about as interesting or dangerous as week old apple peels. A few catchy choruses here and there (particularly on the ‘hit’ End of the World) smeared on a background of fat nu metal-ish riffs and electronic bleeping just doesn’t do it for me.

This is most definitely teenage pop metal of the worst kind, and there’s absolutely nothing revolutionary about it.

01. Wash My Sins Away
02. Panda Girl
03. Sweet Revenge
04. Near Death Experience
05. End of the World
06. Fake
07. Nothing As Whole As A Broken Heart
08. World Is A Vampire
09. Cherry Pit
Label: Dynamic Arts Records
Distribution: Voices Music & Entertainment
Artwork rating: 40/100
Reviewed by: Martin Mathiasen
Date: February 6th 2009