Lion's Share
Dark Hours
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: April 10th 2009

Brilliant, Awesome, Classic, Magnificent, Pure Heavy Metal, are all words to describe the new Lion’s Share album Dark Hours, their 6th studio album & second with one of today’s best Metal singers, in Nils Patrik Johansson (Astral Doors, Wuthering Heights). The man is the evil spawn of Ronnie James Dio but he does have a very distinctive voice and one you can’t mistake for anybody else, well expect for DIO, in parts. Lars Chriss is the only founding member left of Lion’s Share & the man knows how to write some killer riffs and shred his ass off.

The album kicks off with “Judas Must Die” which is a fast, neck breaking monster of a song. I guarantee your head will nod with this song. And also the first video clip off Dark Hours, which is included on the digipack. “Phantom Rider” starts off with a nice little 20 second piano interlude before Lars rips open with a killer solo and double bass kick drums smash your head in. “Heavy Cross To Bear” is real dark & doomy which is not a bad thing and reminds me a lot of the Black Sabbath-TYR album. Really there is no need to go through each track on Dark Hours. Because there is no fillers, just ass kicking traditional heavy metal. Played with passion and spirit. The listener gets 45 minutes of pure evil enjoyment. There’s a guest appearance by Symphony X guitarist Mike Romeo (solo on “Behind the Curtain”).

Dark Hours is a very dark album and it just gets darker as its goes along. Every metal head alive should have this album in their collection. And maybe some of the so called top bands in metal today should take a listen to see how real fucking heavy metal should sound!!!!!!!!!!

Highly Highly Recommended.

01. Judas Must Die
02. Phantom Rider
03. Demon in your Mind
04. Heavy Cross to Bear
05. The Bottomless Pit
06. Full Metal Jacket
07. The Presidio 27
08. Barker Ranch
09. Napalm Nights
10. Space Scam
11. Behind the Curtain
Label: Blistering Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Tye Brown
Date: April 30th 2009