Lacuna Coil
Shallow Life
Style: Nu-Rock
Release date: April 20th 2009



No, that’s not it.


It’s probably deeper and more heartfelt than before.


And it’s probably going to be a big commercial hit too with its fancy producer and everything. Excellent production. Fantastic sound.


Only thing is: Compared to 2006’s marvellous ‘Karmacode’, one of those albums I can always go back to and enjoy, the new Lacuna Coil album is a bore.


It starts out nicely with the semi-heavy tune Survive with its catchy theme. ‘Cool’, I think, ‘they continue where they left off’. But, no, Lacuna Coil have decided to simmer down and, I don’t know what it is, grow up or something. It takes another four tracks before Cristina and the boys manage to grab my attention again, this time with the tune I Like It.


You have to understand that I expect something from the Italians. I expect catchy tunes with a heavy and warm sound, a good groove. I expect Cristina’s voice to be amazing.


Well, her voice is amazing. And there are hints of the catchiness. But there isn’t one single track on this album where I can go ‘Yeah, that’s it!’


There’s just loads of going nowhere. Fillers rather than hits.


For all the professionalism, the band never really takes off and gets under my skin. This is the turn that should not have been made.


01. Survive
02. I Won't Tell You
03. Not enough
04. I'm Not Afraid
05. I Like It
06. Underdog
07. The Pain
08. Spellbound
09. Wide Awake
10. The Maze
11. Unchained
12. Shallow Life

Label: Century Media Records
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: April 15th 2009