Lz Rockit
Taste of Rebellion / Live Untold
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: November 20th 2009

Available for the first time in Europe, the re-release of Lz Rockit's Japan-only live album "Taste of Rebellion," originally released in 1992, is coupled with the bonus "Live Untold" DVD which came out in 2006. My promo version didn't include the DVD, so I am only going to focus on the CD portion of the package. Since October, Massacre Records has re-released all their studio recordings and with this outing, it completes the re-releases of the band's catalog.

On "Taste Of Rebellion," Lz Rockit's live-energy show was recorded at the Citta in Tokyo, and captures the essence of a Lz Rockit gig, which they were known for their crushing live sets. The atmosphere and the band's energy is displayed within the 11 tracks.

The songs that make up the set list are mostly from their prior release "Nothing$ $acred." I only wish there were more tracks from "Annihilation Principle" and at least one from "Know Your Enemy." 

Tracks "Greed Machine," "Prelude," and "Leather Face," from the movie soundtrack "Leatherface: Texas Chainsaw Massacre III," are good examples of Lz Rockit's brutality in a live setting. A constant in their live repertoire is the Dead Kennedy's "Holiday in Cambodia," and this version is played with true grit and might.

No surprises here, but for a live album it was recorded and mixed pretty well without losing the rawness of a Lz Rockit show. 

01. In The Name Of The Father And The Gun
02. Greed Machine
03. Fire In The Hole
04. City's Gonna Burn
05. Leather Face
06. Suicide City
07. The Enemy Within
08. Prelude
09. Into The Asylum
10. Holiday In Cambodia
11. Curiosity Kills
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: December 24th 2009
Website: www.laazrockit.ning.com