Kings of Modesty
Hell or Highwater
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: September 25th 2009

Debut album from Finnish Kings of Modesty falls nicely in line with numerous other first class melodic metal acts from Finland. Placing themselves somewhere in between Leverage, Brother Firetribe and Sonata Arctica they present their blend like pros and convincingly.

Melodic metal with plenty of powerful songs, nice arrangements, pounding drums, blistering guitar riffs and leads, solid keyboard parts and an above average vocalist are the ingredients Kings of Modesty has put out for us to judge. Not earth shattering nor unique and groundbreaking in any, just very well done and solid as a rock! Best moments are the powerful and fast tracks like: "Never Touched the Rainbow", "Hourglass" and "Hell or Highwater", while some of the more melodic stuff do not reach the same level.

The Finnish melodic metal scene has yet another fine gem to be reckoned with, and I am sure we will hear a lot from these guys in the time to come...


01. Never Touched the Rainbow
02. Hourglass
03. Deep Down
04. Staring Eyes
05. Hell or Highwater
06. Suicidal Mission
07. Once Upon a Time
08. Tailspin
09. Miracle
10. We Will March Our Way
11. Two Hearts Collide

Label: Escape Music
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: September 8th 2009
Website: Kings of Modesty @ MySpace