Style: Death Metal
Release date: April 20th 2009

I love when death metal comes down on you like a kick in the face!


Italian Kadaver manages to plant a boot directly in my face with their debut, simply entitled ‘Kadaver’.


There’s little fuzz here. An ultra-short keyboard intro and then a barrage of heads-down, brutal death metal of a technically high standard.


More than one thought goes to Carcass with bassist Luka and guitarist Lorenzo sharing the vocal duties in much the same way as we heard on the early efforts of the reformed Brits.


If you need a comparison, I’d say that we touch down somewhere between Carcass and Morbid Angel, if that makes any sense to you. The quiet, almost proggy instrumental end piece, Mirror of Lies, offers a stark contrast to the rest of album and shows that there is so much more to Kadaver. Well done!

Anyway, the conclusion is that this album is heavy as the Colosseum and drives right into the heart of an old-school death metal fan like yours truly. Check out the band’s MySpace for a taste of a quality death metal.


01. From Flesh to Sorrow

02. Return to Ashes

03. Behind the Storm

04. Global Collapse

05. Towards the Abyss

06. Morbid Sense of Weakness

07. Lust of Mortal Decay

08. Ghost of Revelation

09. Mirror of Lies

Label: Punishment 18 Records
Distribution: Punishment 18 Records
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: July 14th 2009
Website: www.myspace.com/smellthekadaver