House of Lords
Cartesian Dreams
Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: September 18th 2009

Some claim that House of Lords peaked with their classic self-titled debut album back in 1989, but I beg to differ because both of the two albums prior to this - "World Upside Down" from 2006 and last years' "Come to My Kingdom" surpassed the debut album by a distance...

So I was naturally eager to hear if they have managed to top those two first class melodic hard rock albums with "Cartesian Dreams". The classic House of Lords trademarks are maintained even though they are coming across a bit harder and heavier this time, which feels like a natural progress for the band. The songs are still catchy and hook laden, expertly crafted and delivered and James Christian sings up to par with his best, which in my book is absolutely world class.

So why isn't this album breaking into the Champions League, which should be the next natural step for House of Lords? Well, the real blockbuster anthems are missing, and the album falls just inches short of "World Upside Down" as well as "Come to My Kingdom".

So where does that leave us? It leaves us with a first class melodic hard rock album with twelve well written, crafted and executed songs that leaves almost nothing to be desired for - if you like House of Lords. And I am sure that when 2009 comes to an end and we look back, we will see that "Cartesian Dreams" was one of the highlights in melodic hard rock.

House of Lords proves once more why they should be considered one of the premier melodic hard rock bands on this small green planet...

Good one!

01. Cartesian Dreams 5:15
02. Born To Be Your Baby 4:31
03. Desert Rain 5:08
04. Sweet September 3:44
05. Bangin' 3:32
06. A Simple Plan 0:16
07. Never Look Back 4:06
08. The Bigger They Come 3:53
09. Repo Man 4:11
10. Saved By Rock 4:45
11. Joanna 3:30
12. The Train (Bonus Track) 4:41
Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: August 4th 2009