Hellish War
Defender of Metal/Heroes of Tomorrow
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: September 18th 2009

HELLISH WAR hails from Brazil and was formed in 1995 in the Sap Paulo area. In 2001 they released their debut album ‘Defender of Metal’ and in 2008 they released 'Heroes of Tomorrow'.


Fans of classic 80’s metal should at least check HELLISH WAR out, because now you can get both their albums on a 2-CD and they provide us with surprising good (Epic) Metal. Just think of a mix between; Iron Maiden, Manowar, Jaguar, Saxon, Manilla Road, Omen, Grim Reaper and late 70’s and early 80’s Metal in general. Well... you can add some Running Wild riffs too.


I must admit that I was quite disappointed at the very first listen... but after a few listens I was suddenly in the right mood for their music and slowly but surely their music was creeping up on me. We get tons of razor sharp riffs, catchy guitar melody lines, catchy solos and quite catchy choruses... not sappy choruses... so don’t worry.


The production is a tad better on ‘Heroes of Tomorrow’ than on ‘Defender of Metal’. A tad more polished too... however they seem to have improved musically.


Not every single song is a winner, but most of them are so fans of 80’s Metal and Epic Metal should at least check this band out. But do have in mind that their music needs a few spins to blossom.


Nice one.


01. Into the Battle
02. Hellish War

03. We are living for the metal
04. Defender of Metal
05. The Sign
06. Gladiator
07. Into the Valhalla
08. Sacred Sword
09. Memories of a Metal
10. Feeling of Warriors
11. The Law of the Blade
12. Battle End
13. Straight from Hell
14. Die for Glory
15. Metal Forever
16. Son of the King
17. Reasons
18. My Freedom
19. Destroyer
20. Awaken
21. Beyond
22. Heroes of Tomorrow
23. Metal Forever (Instrumental)

Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Twilight
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: October 11th 2009
Website: www.myspace.com/warhellishwar