Lust in Space
Style: Thrash metal
Release date: August 18th 2009

Persistence is a word that comes to mind when you receive a promo copy of a new album from Gwar. The freaks from outer space have toiled with us puny humans for a quarter of a decade now, and itís been 25 extremely entertaining years.


Depending on the nature of your sense of humour, the musical output from the gore lord Oderus Urungus, Beefcake the Mighty and the rest of the extraterrestrial ogres has, letís face it, been less entertaining if youíre looking for real quality.


ĎLust in Spaceí is no news, then. You canít say that Gwarís punk infused thrash metal is really poor, but itís certainly no revelation either. They have grown over time and modern thrash elements have been incorporated, but thereís still a long way to the Machine Heads of this world.


If I were to point out one tune that stands out from the mediocre mass of tunes, it would have to be Release the Flies, a Fear Factory inspired track with a nice and powerful touch.


I canít see Gwar making a living from CD sales, thatís for sure, but never mind as long as theyíre one of the most entertaining live acts on the planet as they just proved at this yearís Wacken Open Air. Go see them live if you ever get the chance. Just make sure that you wear white clothes or, alternatively, a raincoat. Fun guaranteed!


01. Lust In Space 6:12

02. Let Us Slay 3:25

03. Damnation Under God 3:27

04. The UberKlaw 3:39

05. Lords And Masters 4:52

06. Metal Metal Land 3:05

07. The Price Of Peace 3:37

08. Where Is Zog 4:53

09. Make A Child Cry 2:59

10. Release The Flies 4:10

11. Parting Shot 4:16

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: August 28th 2009