For Selena and Sin
Primrose Path
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: November 5th 2009

“Primrose Path” is a brilliant fairy tale! It shows a more dynamic side of the band than the previous album “Overdosed on You”. Melancholic legends of stars and sun are melting down the feast of sounds in the second release of “For Selena and Sin”. The compositions carry away to a vortex of melodies…


The vocal’s line brings associations with lots of names in the field: Anneke van Giersbergen (ex-The Gathering, Agua De Annique), Nell Sigland (Theatre of Tragedy), Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil), and Amy Lee (Evanescence). But the manner of the singer Annika Jalkanen is not their copy in any way. She has the characteristic for the Finnish scene excellent voice training. The same as in the most of the Finnish bands we cannot find any influences – the voice is sterile pure, emotional and crystal clear.


Heaven is opening with the enchanting intro and an angel’s voice in “Countdown to the Stars”. The darkness still covers the seeking hearts in the second track “Bring Me the Sun” which appeals to finding an illusive path to the light of life. The songs “Rusty Rails of Yesterday”, “Horst” and “Summer Hill” are more symphonic notes of passion, trust, understanding and loss of opportunities. “Broken Mirror”, “Colour My World” and “Don’t Touch the Sky” provide a gorgeous contrast of the female vocals and male backing vocals in choruses. The bonus tracks “Five Days in a Row” and “Sister Sunset” feature other nice melodies with a great acoustic intro and powerful male vocals in the first and surprising voice technique in the second one. In this album you can find awesome guitar sounds and delightful atmospheric keyboards.


The album features a Kylie Minogue cover song “Confide in Me” which in my opinion is better than the original, because “For Selena and Sin” have made the sound heavier. These guitar riffs express strength. The interpretation in melodic metal gender is splendid. The richer voice of Annika imparts depth of tones.


All fans of Tiamat, Paradise Lost, the late albums of Cemetary, Dreams of Sanity, Silentium will be pleased to listen to “For Selena and Sin”. The band works in a well known niche which becomes more and more limited. “For Selena and Sin” are metal as far as there are strong guitars in their music! They are gothic as far as the 4/4 time rhythm sounds monotonous! They are pop as far as the crowd adores their music! Recommended tracks are: “Bring Me the Sun”, “Broken Mirror”, “Don’t Touch the Sky”. This band is awesome, and they are worth checking out!


01. Countdown to the Stars
02. Bring Me the Sun
03. Rusty Rails of Yesterday
04. Horst
05. Confide in Me
06. Broken Mirror
07. Colour My World
08. Psycho Lover
09. Don’t Touch the Sky
10. Summer Hill

Bonus tracks
11. Five Days in a Row
12. Sister Sunset

Label: Mascot Records
Promotion: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: November 10th 2009