Shackleton's Voyage
Style: Prog Rock
Release date: June 8th 2009

Eureka is the child of Frank Bossert, telling us the story of Sir Ernest Shackleton's Antarctica expedition in the years 1914 to 1916. 'Shackleton's Voyage' take us on a journey into prog rock, Celtic, symphonic rock and Mike Oldfield territory musically and unless you do like Mike Oldfield and his style there really is no point in reading on here...

This musical interpretation of the legendary Antarctica expedition that turned into a survival story could be the soundtrack for a movie. Multiple layers of synthesizers dominate the affair, spiced up with some fine guitar leads, creating the background music for the story.

To be honest I really don't know if this kind of music will trigger any of our normal readers, and I do personal get bored fairly quickly. Sure the epic soundscapes are worked out to perfection and are well played, the sound is very good and the atmosphere is right for this kind of music, but then again...

Absolutely not for everyone!

01. The Last Adventure
02. Departure
03. The Challenge
04. Grytviken Whale Station
05. Heading South
06. Icebound
07. Plenty of Time
08. The Turning Point
09. Going Home
10. Into the Lifeboats
11. Elephant Island
12. Will You Ever Return?
13. In Search of Relief
14. The Rescue
15. We Had Seen God!
Label: InsideOut Music/SPV
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: May 10th 2009