Style: Gothic Metal
Release date: November 27th 2009

ELIS is a gothic metal band from Liechtenstein, Austria and Switzerland and ‘Catharsis’ is the title of their brand new album.


The band is now fronted by new singer Sandra Schleret after the tragic death of former singer Sabine Dünser. She died of a brain haemorrhage just after finishing her vocal tracks on the 2006 release ‘Griefshire’.


I was actually quite curious to hear if the band could release another strong album like ‘Griefshire’... and they have. ‘Catharsis’ has turned out a bit heavier and darker than ‘Griefshire’ but I welcome their “new” sound with open arms. Some of the songs need a few listens to blossom but you will found yourself humming tracks such as the fantastic opener “Core Of Life”, “Warrior’s Tale” and the very catchy “I Come Undone” in no time.


Sandra Schleret’s voice is all over this brand new release and she is doing a great job in my book. Sandra’s vocals are peppered with bass player Tom Saxer’s growls now and then and that makes this album even heavier.


There are only 2 songs that I personally find quite bit boring... I won’t name them ‘because I don’t see the point in doing so... but all in all I’m positively surprised with ‘Catharsis’.


The production is also very good. Crystal clear and powerful.


Gothic metal fans should definitely check this album out now.

Good buy:)


01. Core Of Life

02. Twinkling Shadow

03. Warrior's Tale

04. Des Lebens Traum

05. I Come Undone

06. Firefly

07. Morning Star

08. Das Kleine Ungeheuer

09. Mother's Fire

10. Rainbow

11. The Dark Bridge

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: December 6th 2009
Website: www.elis.li/