A New Identity
Style: Melodic Progressive Power Metal
Release date: October 13th 2009

Unless you really, really likes Symphony X and to a degree Adagio and Space Odyssey there's really no point in even considering picking this album up, because what Edgend delivers on their debut full length has massive parallels with those bands.

Highly unoriginal, but you don't just write songs that have the quality to compete with the above mentioned bands without being very talented and the album shows some very skilful musicians that handles their instruments to perfection and a very good vocalist, who has the range to sing the complex songs. You really can't put a finger on the execution and the production, but originality is nowhere to be found.

Now they need to grow a pair and write more original material, show that they are capable of getting out of the deep, deep shadows of Symphony X and become a band that can stand on their own. And the title couldn't be more appropriate: they need a new identity, one of their OWN. But if you need an album to bridge time until the next Symphony X album is released, then I suggest you give this one a listen...


01. Into The Equation - A Mask Without Identity
02. Internal Fire
03. My Oath
04. Acts of Disgrace
05. Revelation
06. A Chosen Truth
07. The Pain
08. Winds from the Abyss
09. Balance
10. Voices
11. Out of the Equation - A New Identity

Label: Nightmare Records
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: November 8th 2009
Website: www.myspace.com/edgendband