The Law of One
Style: Power / Progressive Metal
Release date: September 15th 2009

Considering who's behind this I must say that this one really let's me down! Jonah Weingarten, keyboards, who has had such a big influence on the sound in Pyramaze and Yan Levithan, guitars, the guy responsible for the sound and direction of Avain are the main contributors to this album; the first one from Echoterra.

Bordering on symphonic metal they have opted to incorporate female vocalist Suvi Virtanen, who has worked with Therion as a part of their live choir from 2003 to 2005, into their sound, moving a bit away from their normal turf. The songs leave plenty of room for her to shine, but she fails to impress, and the deliverance is mediocre at best.

But what really kills the pleasure is the horrible sound, one of the worst productions I've heard in some time; no balance and muddy. Only two songs pass the bar of acceptance; "The Wind surrounds you" and the orchestral version of "Say, Try, Lie, Die". Two well written and executed emotional ballads that shows the potential within the band. The rest is forgettable partly due to the bad sound.

Not exactly what I had hoped for, and sadly an easy forgettable album that don't stand many chances in the fierce competition... and I will prefer their main bands any day of the week.



01. Manifest Eternity
02. The Will of Life
03. In Your Eyes
04. A Tear of Her Heart
05. The Wind surrounds you
06. To Live Again
07. Say, Try, Lie, Die
08. Beyond the Seven Seas
09. Water Falls
10. Say, Try, Lie, Die (Orchestral Version)

Label: Blinding Force Recordings
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: October 15th 2009
Website: Echoterra @ MySpace