The Project Hate MCMXCIX: Initiation of Blasphemy
Style: Electro-Death Metal
Release date: November 30th 2009

“Deadmarch” is the “embryonic version” of the electro-death metal “The Project Hate MCMXCIX”. The ideas and the first recordings are born in the distant MCMXCVII (1998). This suffering album is like the first child of Kenth Philipson, although his previous participation in lots of bands from Swedish death metal scene.

Swedish death metal took its own path of development too early. Deadmarch is its mirror in reference to the melody. But the penetration of the techno-dance rhythm is a revolution for 1998, although it is officially unborn then. It is impossible to miss the parallel with its official successors under the brand - TPH. The first born is more melodic, slower and more sweet-tempered!

Later Jörgen Sandström (Grave) will put forward more aggression and velocity of vocals in TPH. But yet in “The Initiation of Blasphemy” he recorded backing vocals. Mikael Öberg reflected unsuccessful participation in the recordings of the album. The vocalist Mia Ståhl brings a brief melancholy which reminds of Aeon Spoke. It is hard to say if the inspiration comes from Fear Factory or from visits to techno clubs. But she shows a lovely and powerful female voice.

The rhythm is emphatically monotonous and the programming carries the main message. This sound was founded later by Cemetary, but they carried the music forward to a gothic direction. The riffs in “The Initiation of Blasphemy” are more tamed than these in TPH. And here we listen to keyboard passages frequently …

The album is finally being born! Some information in the preparation and the release of the product is getting lost among the multitude of tracks gone astray, tracks founded and tracks rerecorded. “The Project Hate MCMXCIX: The Initiation of Blasphemy” will please you at a good level if you are into Swedish electro-death metal! And if you are not - you got eight songs on this record that are varied, and you get quite an interesting journey through Kenth Philipson's world of music.


01. Angels Misled
02. Sear the Son
03. Bloodstained
04. The Crucified Starts to Reek
05. Everloving
06. So I Mourn
07. Soulrain
08. Divinity Erased

Label: Vic Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: November 12th 2009