Behind the Wire
Style: Heavy Electro Goth Metal
Release date: January 11th 2010

CloneCircle are not quite like the others here in Denmark. Their take on metal is different and indeed focused on concepts and the visual arts.

The artwork and the ideas the latest release from the quartet is wrapped in are superb. No more, no less. And the music, well, thatís naturally a matter of taste, and it took me a few listens to appreciate the experience that is ĎBehind the Wireí.

I can see how Martin Hellgrenís voice could be a challenge for some listeners, but once you get used to it, it isnít that bad, really. If you picture a darker version of Alice Cooper, youíre not far off.

The bandís overall expression is extremely eighties and early nineties. Picture Alice Cooper meets Die Krupps meets the slower parts of King Diamond. Yes, I suppose these are all very traditional sounds these days, but combined the way itís done by CloneCircle, it sounds quite unique and terribly sing-along-friendly.

If you like bands that believe in story telling, concepts, good melodies and big, dramatic songs, you might want to look this way.


01. Behind the Wire
02. Undying
03. Your Own Worst Enemy
04. Thunder and the Rain
05. Follow Me
06. Obey
07. Sweet Impossibility
08. Memento Mori
09. Disconnected
10. Save Me (Not)
11. Infinity

Label: MSM Production
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 95/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: December 19th 2009