Cain's Offering
Gather the Faithful
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: August 28th 2009

Cain's Offering is the brainchild of former Sonata Arctica and Altaria guitarist and song writer Jani Liimatainen and something he has been working on ever since he left Sonata Arctica in 2007. Joining him on the quest for success is some of the premier musicians of the Finnish metal scene: keyboard player Mirkko Harkin (Solution .45, ex-Sonata Arctica, ex-Kenziner etc.), bass player Jukka Koskinen (Norther, Wintersun) and drummer Jani Hurula (Paul Di'Anno).

Each of them shines and is delivering a stellar performance on this album, but the guy, who makes this album something else, something special is Timo Kotipelto (Stratovarius, Kotipelto), who sings as strong as he is capable of, something he really hasn't done for some time... His performance is up to par with his performances on 'Visions' and 'Destiny', more than ten years ago.

The expectations are always very high when we are presented with some form of super-group, and I must say that this belongs among some of the very best in recent years. 'Gather the Faithful' is a very well written and performed album with ten strong melodic power metal songs that shows five very talented musicians. Still not convinced then try "Morpheus in a Masquerade" and hear a band clicking on all cylinders at the same time...

The balanced and crystal clear production is helping elevate the album to a higher level and with no further ado it is my pleasure to introduce to you, the next big thing in melodic power metal: Cain's Offering.


01. My Queen of Winter
02. More than Friends
03. Oceans of Regret
04. Gather the Faithful
05. Into the Blue
06. Dawn of Solace
07. Thorn in my Side
08. Morpheus in a Masquerade
09. Stolen Waters
10. Elegantly Broken

Label: Frontiers Records
Promotion: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier/Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: July 11th 2009