The Bulletmonks
Weapons of Mass Destruction
Style: Mosh 'n' Roll
Release date: March 30th 2009

Welcome to the party! The debut album Weapons of Mass Destruction from American/Austrailan outfit The Bulletmonks sets off at a breakneck pace with the massive ‘No Gain Just Pain’ that will rock you back in your chair through sheer energy and balls-out attitude. This is followed by what I would venture to call a feel good rocker in the vein of Ugly Kid Joe, yet with a serious case lead poisoning, because this is some heavy stuff. By now you should be tapping your foot and shaking your head like a drunken maniac – unless of course you’ve taken this baby for a ride down the highway, because this is an excellent soundtrack for speeding.

Although there may not be anything particularly new under the sun except for the definition mosh ‘n’ roll that these guys have decided to name the solid kick in the balls that they deliver, this is a force to be reckoned with. It’s the rebel energy of such bands as Gluecifer and Hellacopters paired with the grace and melody of Bad Religion as well as the metal heritage of Metallica and Megadeth.

Of course it’s a bit too much to expect a debut album to be flawless from start to finish, but the first six tracks really do deliver the goods. I’m not sure if the slow, southern style rocker ‘Downtown Is Dead’ really fits in or if the snakeskin-boot stomping Blackfoot sounding ‘Never Be A Wannabe’ is a winner, but by the time we reach ‘We’re All Fucked’, the party seems to be back on track and you can get back to the business of body slamming your furniture.

However, someone should have thrown out the last partygoers and locked the door before they decided to pick up a guitar and churn out an acoustic version of ‘No Gain Just Pain’. Damn drunkards.

Highly recommended nonetheless – mosh on!

01. No Gain Just Pain
02. My World's A Show
03. Lifestyle Junkie
04. Under The Black Sun
05. I Am
06. Canned Insanity
07. Downtown Is Dead
08. Never Be A Wannabe
09. Hang On Lord
10. We're All Fucked
11. Tentacle
12. No Gain Just Pain (Unplugged)
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Martin Mathiasen
Date: April 7th 2009