Just Highs No Lows (12 Years of Persistence)
Style: Power Metal
Release date: November 6th 2009

Hot on the heels of the brilliant "Memorial Roots" comes the first ever best of by one of Germany's most prominent power metal bands Brainstorm. This well crafted release has everything you would want from Brainstorm . "Falling Spiral Down", "All Those Words" , "Highs Without Lows" all the classics are here on this 32 track 2CD set. The other most impressive thing about "Just Highs No Lows" is all the bonus and rare stuff that gets delivered on disc 2. There are 6 bonus tracks from limited Japanese releases and digi packs as well as 2 rare live tracks. They are "Face Down" (Metus Mortis Digi), "Breathe" (Liquid Monster Japan), "Drowning" (Downburst Japan), "Crawling In Chains" (Downburst Japan & LTD.ED), "Before The Dawn" (JUDAS PRIEST COVER), "Is This The Way To Amarillo" (Soul Temptation ltd), "Voices"(Unholy) Live and "Liar's Edge" (Hungry) Live before Andy B Frank was the vocalist. But Andy does sing on these two live tracks.

That brings me to the only downer on this other wise awesome package. There is nothing on here from Brainstorm's first 2 albums (Apart from the 2 live tracks) with "Marcus Jürgens" on vocals. "Just Highs No Lows" is only a best of "Andy B Frank Brainstorm" and I think it is only being released by Metal Blade to fill contractual duties, seeing that "Brainstorm" are now signed to AFM Records.

But is will be a great stocking filler for any metal head this xmas, even if just for all the bonus material. This would be the ideal release for anybody finding Brainstorm for the first time.

Highly Recommended!!!!!!!!!!

01. Falling Spiral Down 
02. Fire Walk With Me 
03. End In Sorrow 
04. How Do You Feel 
05. Stained With Sin 
06. Worlds Are Coming Through 
07. All Those Words
08. Inside The Monster
09. Painside 
10. Heavenly 
11. Highs Without Lows 
12. The Leading 
13.Doorway To Survive
14.Shiva's Tears
15. Fornever
16. Soul Temptation

01. Blind Suffering 
02. Hollow Hideaway 
03. Shadowland 
04. Under Lights 
05. Tear Down The Walls 
06. Maharaja Palace 
07. Beyond My Destiny
08. Demonsion
09. Face Down 
10. Breathe 
11. Drowning 
12. Crawling In Chains 
13. Before The Dawn
14. Is This The Way To Amarillo
15. Voices (Live)
16. Liar's Edge (Live)
Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Tye Brown
Date: November 23rd 2009