The Black Swan Epilogue
Style: Melodic death metal
Release date: June 15th 2009

Mike Wead (King Diamond, Mercyful Fate/ Memento Mori, ex Candlemass) found besides Simon Johannsson (Memory Garden, ex Steel Attack) members of bands such as The Bereaved and Nattas to finish the line-up. For the clean vocals he invited some guests and the pack was complete.

Those of you who expect music just in the Diamond/King style are mistaken. Mike and his brothers in arms have combined it with different styles. What still remind of the other bands are the guitar parts and the many guitar solos. They have also tried to keep the dark atmosphere using orchestral parts in the songs and they have combined those things with black and death influences. The vocals are most of the time very aggressive, sometimes even black pitched. Add some speed and every now and then some clean singing and you get Bibleblack.

In the end the music appears to be a rather modern kind of melodic death metal with lots of guitar solos and good written songs. Fans of all the modern melodic death bands and also those who liked the last Septic Flesh album might find Bibleblack very interesting. Not completely innovative, but they succeeded making a good record. One thing to carp on is that the record with 8 songs (less than 40 minutes music) is a little too short in this expensive times.

01. Leaving Shangri-La
02. Mourning Becomes Me
03. I Am Legion
04. The Dark Engine
05. Bleed
06. Stigma Diaboli
07. Walk into Light (Liars Parade)
08. The Black Swan Epilogue
Label: Vic Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: May 23rd 2009