Style: Heavy Metal / Power Metal
Release date: August 28th 2009

The German metallers AXXIS are back with a brand new album called ’Utopia’... an album fans of the band can buy blindfolded.


Sound and style wise AXXIS continues where they left us with ‘Paradise in Flames’ (2006) and ‘Doom of Destiny’ (2007) namely with heads down heavy metal with a symphonic edge.


The CD is beautiful crafted but lacks surprises in my humble opinion. There is not ONE single filler to be found but every single song could have been found on their last two albums. But why shouldn’t they stick to what works?


Just like on ‘Paradise in Flames’ and ‘Doom of Destiny’ we get both mid-tempo and up-tempo songs... and of course a ballad. The songs contain catchy riffs peppered with memorable choruses so the members of the band should congratulate themselves on a job well done.


The very first time I gave this album a listen I was kinda disappointed. I felt I have heard it all before but after a few listens the songs began to grow... and grow. Even though ‘Utopia’ is a winner I’m not sure it will gain them any new fans... but fans of the band won’t be disappointed.


Gut und absolut hörenswert.

01. Journey to Utopia
02. Utopia
03. Last Man on Earth
04. Fass Mich An
05. Sarah Wanna Die
06. Father's Eyes
07. The Monsters Crawl
08. Eyes of a Child
09. Heavy Rain
10. For You I Will Die
11. Underworld
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: August 20th 2009