Let War Rage
Style: Thrash metal
Release date: July 31st 2009

Do not confuse this Atrocity with their German namesake. There are few similarities between the two outfits.

This American quartet has a more...well...American sound. The promo material wants to sell 'Let War Rage' as an old school death metal album, but to my ears, this is thrash more than anything. Picture a blend of Carnivore, older Sepultura and Napalm Death and you're almost there. Yeah, sounds like a raw bastard, doesn't it?

It is, no doubt, and the whole album has a nice and sludgy kind of feel that takes a sentimental case like myself back to the days of Pete Steel's NY HC/thrash days during the mid-80s.

That said, I don't think the 18 tracks of 'Let War Rage' are entirely waterproof. There are simply too many fillers and too few real hammers. You tap your foot, but you don't really feel like banging your head, if you know what I mean...

I like singer Rob's voice a lot, though. That's good.


01. Born In Pain
02. Spineless
03. I Will Shed Blood
04. The Rotting
05. Swallow The Lies
06. Reduced To Shit
07. Witness To Genocide
08. Human Bomb
09. Winds Of Famine
10. Bludgeoned To Death
11. Let War Rage
12. Horrendous Cut-Throat System
13. Apocalypse
14. The Purging Of Humanity
15. Death Factories
16. Ulcers
17. Survived On Piss
18. Untitled

Label: Mad Lion Records
Distribution: Over Twilight (Germany)
Artwork rating: 35/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: December 29th 2009
Website: Atrocity MySpace