The Time has come to Envy the Dead
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: April 6th 2009

The partially furious modern thrash metal band from Budapest, Hungary released the self-produced version of The Time has come to envy the Dead in 2006. The band has since then signed with Vic Records and I suppose the CD I'm holding in my hand at the moment is the promo of the same record...unless it was recorded anew? That I couldn't find out.

Archaic's not been as passive as it may have seemed since their first self-release: the band is currently recording a new album to be released in the near future.
In its short time of existence, Archaic has also had the privilege of touring with Testament and the rumour says it might happen again on the monsters of thrash's next European tour.

Now when it comes to Archaic's music, I have a couple of things to say: the guitars are ambitious but the solos messy here and there and too half-done, their self-release isn't bad but could use more bass, the vocals are so-so and could use a bit more maturity. I know it is easier said than done, and it is beautiful to feel one's voice evolve with the years.

Archaic sticks truthful to thrash, with a modern - slower and lingering - twist in the rhythm and less aggressivity. Otherwise, the band is among others granted with Jenna Jameson as crew assistant and Jack Daniels as manager and their instruments are "custom made". That's what I like with bands from...Central Europe for the occasion.

I'd like to hear the new stuff soon and see whereto things are going.
The CD includes two video clips and Archaic will probably be coming to a venue near you, so check if you can back up my thoughts on The Time has come to envy the Dead !


01. Awakening
02. True Death of Life
03. Toxic Nightmare
04. The Archer
05. Cornu
06. Eternal War
07. Memories
08. Thank You!!
09. Tormentor (Tormentor cover)
10. Woodland of the black Treasury
- Bonus:
I. Video: "The Archer"
II. Video: "The Archer" (version 2)

Label: Vic Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 83/100
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: September 1st 2009