Journey to L.A.
Style: AOR / Westcoast
Release date: August 28th 2009

You are really going out on a limb if you decide to call your band by the name of the genre you play. But the participants have the pedigree and talent to pull it off, taking part is some of the cream of the crop in this genre: Tommy Denander (Radioactive and co-producer on the album), Philip Bardowell (Places of Power), Steve Overland (Shadowland, FM), Fergie Frederiksen (Toto), Bill Champlin (Chicago), Steve Lukather (Toto), Bruno Levesque (Silence), David Williams (Michael Jackson), David Diggs (Irene Cara), Joey Heredia (Stevie Wonder) and a few more...

Main man behind it all is Frenchman Frédéric Slama, and this is his sixt album, all of them with the connection to the Westcoast and L.A. Since 2000 he has released five critical accliamed AOR / Westcoast albums starting with 'L.A. Confession" back in 2000, followed by 'Next Stop: L.A.' from 2001, 'L.A. Reflection' from 2002, 'Dreaming of L.A.' from 2003 and 'L.A. Attraction' from 2006. He has been working with first class musicians on the albums and some of the real dinosaurs' in the genre, and have received much acclaim for his efforts.

And 'Journey to L.A.' is another fantastic AOR / Westcoast album with all the virtues and signatures present, the musicianship is as expected at the highest level and the songs are all very catchy and smooth as silk. But that's where the fun stops and things get too nice; there's no real excitement and nothing sticks out and makes you stop and wonder.

Probably one of this years finest moments in AOR / Westcoast this year, sadly very limited within in the tight boundaries of the genre, and strickly for genre fans. But genre fans do have a real treat on their hands, so do check it out if you are into this kind of rock.

Best Moments: "Love Remains the Same", "Read the Signs" & "Never Surrender".

01) Waiting in the Darkness
02) Don't Turn Back
03) Love Remains the Same
04) Read the Signs
05) Just for Love
06) Desperate Dreams
07) Never Surrender
08) The View of You
09) Heartless
10) West into the Sun
11) Lost in Your Eyes
12) You're My Obsession
Label: Escape Music
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: August 13th 2009