Into the Pit
Style: Speed / Thrash
Release date: February 29th 2008

The North American band Ultimatum started in 1992. I must admit that I don't know their earlier records, but I will look for them in the future. The band started with a demo called: "Fatal Delay” in 1993. The first record was completed in 1995 called: 'Symphonic Extremities". In 1998 they released their second album called: "Puppet of Destruction". Their third album: "The Mechanic of Perilous Times" was issued in 2001. The EP "Till the End" came out in 2006. And now there is their new one: "Into the Pit".

The band is a band with Christian lyrics. I hear you thinking, oh no... But I must admit, when you are not so narrow minded, this isn't a problem at all. They do not overdo it like Stryper does. I don't think they will be throwing Bibles into the audience like Stryper.

Ultimatum is: Robert Gutierrez - lead and rhythm guitars, Scott Waters - vocals, Rob Whitlock - 4 & 8 string bass and Alan Tuma - drums. Some drum parts are played by Sean Diego. But the most important thing is what their music is like!

Expect a mixture of speed/trash like bands such as Overkill, Exodus and Vengeance Rising (especially the vocals) played in their earlier days. You can say that the band plays old school thrash. The vocals are a mixture of Udo Dirkschneider and Exodus-like vocals. The numbers are played fast and tight. Although I must say that the songs don't have the quality of Exodus. One song I must mention is the Iron Maiden cover “Wrath Child” - they play that song in their own style, it sounds good, but they don't beat the original.

Final conclusion: a good speed/thrash album worth listening to.

01. One for All
02. Exonerate
03. Deathwish
04. Blood Covenant
05. Heart of Metal
06. Wrathchild
07. Transgressor
08. Blink
09. Blind Faith
10. Into the Pit
11. Game Over
Label: Retroactive Records
Provided by: ArtistWorXX
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: February 21st 2008
Website: www.ultimatum.net