Suicide Silence
The Cleansing
Style: Death/Grind/Metalcore
Release date: February 18th 2008

This record blew me completely out of my chair. The mix of Tue Madsen is as heavy as my neighbour's ass. This debut of the quintet from Riverside, California can be described as a mixture of death, metalcore and grind. Expect songs with the heaviest riffs you have ever heard, with hysteric screaming or deep grunting vocals, most of the time played on super high-speed. Slayer meets Cannibal Corpse meets Dillenger with a metalcore-sauce. A kind of Devil Driver on XTC.

It would be a waste of time to mention the best songs. If you take the hysteric "Bludgeoned of Death", the fearsome track "Girl of Glass" or the machine-gun riffing "In a Photograph", you like this kind of music or you don't - you love it or hate it. If you are into grindcore or bands as Suffocation/Cannibal Corpse you will appreciate Suicide Silence as well. When you think the album is over, there is also a 13th untitled track, if that will be a bonus track on a digipack or just a regular song, I don't know.

Although it's not exactly my cup of tea, I must admit that I enjoyed the album. I think it is a record with an original mixture of styles that will find it's way to the fans.

01. Revelations
02. Unanswered
03. Hands of a Killer
04. The Price of Beauty
05. The Fallen
06. No Pity for a Coward
07. The Disease
08. Bludgeoned to Death
09. Girl of Glass
10. In a Photograph
11. Eyes Sewn Shut
12. Green Monster
Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 82/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: February 24th 2008