Style: Doom/Death Metal and stuff
Release date: March 31st 2008

Back in the early 90’s was born what is known nowadays as the heaviest band from Switzerland... namely Sludge. They have released 4 full length albums and for the past 14 days... or so, I have been listening to their latest effort ‘Lava’.


Even though that ‘Lava’ contains almost everything that I like in Metal I feel a tad disappointed with it. Sludge provides us with heaviness, aggression and a very dark atmosphere and if you mix bands such as; Cathedral, Celtic Frost, Entombed, Samael, Inborn Suffering, Mastodon and even Longing for Dawn, I think that you’ll have a pretty good idea of the style and sound of Sludge.


Well... as written above I’m a tad disappointed with ‘Lava’, however it certainly has its moments. Just take a listen to the excellent title-track “Lava”. It’s slow, heavy as hell and very atmospheric and shows that Sludge knows how to captivate the listener. Another track worth mentioning is track 6 “Monolith”. There are some great crushing riffs to be found in that track. Unfortunately this is the only two tracks that I find REALLY great. The rest of the songs (9 of them) are okay but not exactly spectacular in my humble opinion. ‘Lava’ wins a little with every single spin but I don’t feel like playing it over and over again.


Okay... if you like me are into heavy as hell metal then you definitely need to check this band

and this album out. But take a listen before you buy.

01. 60 M.M.
02. Idi Na Hui
03. Lava
04. Carnivore
05. Below
06. Monolith
07. Machine
08. Inquisition
09. The End
Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 40/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: April 7th 2008