Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: March 28th 2008

If you’re into Melodic Metal and bands like Stratovarius, Freedom Call and Kotipelto then I suggest that you should check out this band called PowerWorld and their self titled debut album. PowerWorld are; Lead vocalist Steffen Brunner, drummer Jürgen Lucas (At Vance),

keyboard player Nils Neumann (Freedom Call), guitarist Barish Kepic (Jaded Heart) and Ilker Ersin (Freedom Call), so it’s a bunch of guys that know what they are doing.


After a short intro the first real track called “Creatures” slaps you right in your face with a splendid chorus that sticks like glue. This track leads my mind towards bands like Freedom Call and Stratovarius among others and PowerWorld proves that they do know how to write a catchy tune. This Promo-CD I’m holding in my hands contains 12 songs. 12 catchy songs which you won't get out of ear for a long time. Well... to be honest a few of the songs do need a few spins to grow, but they will win you over after a couple of spins.


Some might claim that we don’t need another band playing melodic metal, heard a million times, and not groundbreaking in any way, but don’t listen to them. There’s always a place for a band who knows how to write catchy songs with memorable hooks, that’s for sure. And there’s definitely a place for PowerWorld too.


The self produced album is mixed by Ilker Ersin and mastered by Achim Köhler and they have done an excellent job.


Friends of good Melodic stuff should check this album out March 28th, 2008.

01. The Dark (Intro)
02. Creatures
03. Lake of Eternity
04. Fight Fire With Fire
05. Signs in the Sand
06. I reach the Light
07. Dancing With Angels
08. Your World is not Mine
09. I Died in Your Arms
10. Breaking the Silence
11. Don't Walk on Broken Glass
12. Our Melody
Label: Metalheaven
Provided by: Metalheaven
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: February 27th 2008
Website: www.powerworld.org