Let the Metal do the Talking
Style: Melodic 80's metal
Release date: January 27th 2008

I must confess that I didn't know this Swedish band, but it appears that they are back after a break of almost 24 years. Formed in 1980 they released a 5 track mini album in 1981 called "Reflexions", followed by 2 full length albums in 1983's "Metal Attack" and 1984's "Swords & Axes". So now they are back with "Let the Metal do the Talking".

The titles of the tracks already betray their old-fashioned melodic 80's metal-style. A little Maiden, some old Saxon, a bit Whitesnake, a piece of Priest, a byte of early Europe and a sniff of Manowar. Of course the production of Johan Blömström (Blinded Colony) makes the record sound better than in the 80's, but it still sounds 80's. Per Karlsson is a good singer for this style of music and makes the record worth listening to. What makes the band less than their big influences is the songs - they are not as strong and sound too regular.

Opener "Army of Darkness" starts very good, with high expectations for the rest of the songs. Listening to the other songs, not one could beat the first track. Maybe because of that I'm a bit disappointed with the album. Nevertheless, tracks as "Chasing Highways", "Sinister Warfare" and "Gravy Train" are also worth listening to. Some tracks, like "Let the Metal do the Talking" and "Trapped Under Ice" are below average.

Summary: If you like the old 80's metal-style, and are not looking for original music, check it out. The members are good musicians and the album has a decent production. Oh,.. I forgot to mention that on the track "Reincarnation" there is a guest appearance of Italian singer Chris Catena.

01. Army of Darkness
02. Let The Metal Do The Talking
03. Fight to the Finish
04. Bring me o Submission
05. Trapped Under Ice
06. Deceived
07. Den of Iniquity (Instrumental)
08. Gravy Train
09. Chasing Highways
10. Lodestar
11. Sinister Warfare
12. Reincarnation
Label: Lion Music
Provided by: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: February 22nd 2008
Website: www.overdrive.se